clip art_edited.jpg
clip art_edited.jpg

Virtual Conference

METHODS AND CASE HISTORIES FOR CHARACTERIZATION OF POTENTIAL

SEISMIC AND GEOLOGIC HAZARDS

 

March 15-17, 2022

8:00am-12:30pm Pacific Time Each Day

AEG Logo-Print-Large-Transparent Background.png

Symposium Schedule​

Convened By:

Gerry L. Stirewalt and Courtney Johnson

Day 1: March 15, 2022

8:00 - 8:45am        Keynote Address: Lessons Learned from Implementation of the SSHAC Process over 25 Years of Hazard Studies

                               Coppersmith, Kevin and Ryan, Coppersmith Consulting, kevin@coppersmithconsulting.com; ryan@coppersmithconsulting.com

8:45 - 9:15am        Seismic and Volcanic Hazard Studies for SSHAC and PVHA Evaluations at Existing Nuclear Power Stations in Taiwan

                               Clahan, Kevin, Lettis Consultants International, clahan@lettsci.com

9:15 - 9:45am        Empirical Analysis of Landslide Runout  in Glacial Strata in the Eastern Puget Lowlands, Washington

                               Molinari, Mark, GeoEngineers, mmolinari@geoengineers.com; Carla Woodworth, cwoodworth@geoengineers.com;

                               Cody Gibson, cgibson@geoengineers.com; Michelle Deng, mdeng@geoengineers.com 

9:45 - 10:15am      The 2021 National Landslide Hazards Act and Implications for Federal Land Management Agencies

                            Carpenter, Lynne, USDA Forest Service, Minerals & Geology Management, Geologic Hazards Program Lead,

                            lynne.chastain-carpenter@usda.gov 

10:15-10:30am     Break

10:30 - 11:00am     Landslide Dams and Historic Outbreak Flood Events, Community of Montecito, Southern Santa Barbara County, California

                                Rogers, J. David, The Project for Resilient Communities (TPRC), rogersda@mst.edu; Larry D. Gurrola, lg@larrygurrola.com

11:00 - 11:30am     Flood and Debris Flow History of the Montecito Watersheds, Santa Barbara County, California

                                Gurrola, Larry D., The Project for Resilient Communities (TPRC), lg@larrygurrola.com; J. David Rogers, rogersda@mst.edu

11:30am-12:00pm Revisiting the Forgotten Volcano: Volcanic History and Hazards of Mount Adams

                                Pope, Isaac, Centralia College, isaac.pope@student.centralia.edu

12:00-12:30pm      Mountain Tunnel Access Roadway Improvements

                                Schick, James, McMillen Jacobs Associates, schick@mcmjac.com; Joe Buitrago, jbuitrago@sfwater.org;

                                David Tsztoo, DTsztoo@sfwater.org

 

Day 2: March 16, 2022

8:00 - 8:30am        Remote Methods for Rockfall Hazard Mapping in the Arequipa Region of Peru

                               Grady, Cassidy, Colorado School of Mines, clgrady@mines.edu; Paul Santi, psanti@mines.edu;

                               Gabriel Walton, gwalton@mines.edu; Percy Colque, scolquer@unsa.edu.pe; Pablo Meza, pmezaa@unsa.edu.pe

8:30 - 9:00am        Characterizing Potential for Seepage and Internal Erosion on Karst Foundation using a Holistic, Data-Based Approach

                               Huebner, Matthew, Tennessee Valley Authority, mthuebner@tva.gov; Joshua Shinpaugh, jeshinpaugh0@tva.gov;

                               Husein Hasan, hahasan@tva.gov; Jeffrey Munsey, jwmunsey@tva.gov

9:00 - 9:30am        Assessing Karst Hazard for a Proposed Nuclear Power Plant Site in the Valley and Ridge of Tennessee

                               Sowers, Janet, FUGRO,  j.sowers@fugro.com; David Fenster, rockpic001@gmail.com

9:30 - 10:00am      The 1811-1812 New Madrid Earthquakes: Then & Now

                               Steckel, Phyllis, Earthquake Insight LLC, psteckel@charter.net

10:00-10:30am     Break

10:30 - 11:00am     Glauconitic Sand: A New Geohazard for Offshore Wind?

                                Westgate, Zack, University of Massachusetts at Amherst, zwestgate@umass.edu

11:00 - 11:30am     Unlocking the Black Box - What Geotechnical Engineers Do with Geologic Input

                                Johnson, Courtney, Slate Geotechnical Consultants, Inc., cjohnson@slategeotech.com

11:30am-12:00pm Evaluation of Non-liquefiable Soil Layer Impact on Liquefaction Surface Manifestation in Dyer County, Tennessee

                               Tohidi, Hamed, The University of Memphis, htohidi@memphis.edu; David Arellano, darellan@memphis.edu;

                               Chris Cramer, ccramer@memphis.edu; Roy Van Arsdale, rvanrsdl@memphis.edu;

                               Renee Reichenbacher, renee.reichenbacher@gmail.com

12:00-12:30pm      Addressing Uncertainty Through an Open, Collaborative Database of Liquefaction Case Histories

                               Ulmer, Kristin, Southwest Research Institute, kulmer@swri.org; Thomas Weaver, thomas.weaver@nrc.gov;

                               John Stamatakos, jstamatakos@swri.org;  Miriam Juckett, mjuckett@swri.org

Day 3: March 17, 2022

 

8:00 - 8:45am        Keynote Address: 50 Years of Paleoseismology

                               McCalpin, James, mccalpin@geohaz.com

8:45 - 9:15am        Recently Identified Plate Boundary Thrust Fault in Southern Papua New Guinea Produced Repeated Large Earthquakes

                           That May Have Impacted Late Holocene Trade

                               Whitney, Beau, Whitney Geologic and FUGRO France SAS, beau@whitneygeologic.com; James Hengesh, hengesh@igeohaz.com;                                 Frédéric Rossi, f.rossi@fugro.com; Cédric Duvail, c.duvail@fugro.com; Önder Yönlü, o.yonlu@fugro.com;

                               Manel Labidi, m.labidi@fugro.com

9:15 - 9:45am        Recurrence of Large Upper Plate Earthquakes in the Salish Lowland, Washington State

                               Sherrod, Brian, US Geological Survey, bsherrod@usgs.gov; Richard Styron, richard.h.styron@gmail.com;

                               Stephen Angster, sangster@usgs.gov

9:45 - 10:15am      Evolution of a Site-specific Seismic Hazard Study in Northwestern Oregon, USA

                               Redwine, Joanna, Bureau of Reclamation, jredwine@usbr.gov; Ralph E. Klinger, rklinger@usbr.gov                             

10:15-10:30am     Break

10:30 - 11:00am     Geologic and Geotechnical Considerations for Rational Interpretation of Lateral Spreading Case Histories

                                Ziotopoulou, Katerina, University of California - Davis, kziotopoulou@ucdavis.edu; Renmin Pretell, rpretell@ucdavis.edu;

                                Craig Davis, cadavisengr@yahoo.com

11:00 - 11:30am     Initial Results from Paleoliquefaction Investigations in Virginia and North Carolina of the Southeastern United States

                                Carter, Mark W., U.S. Geological Survey, mcarter@usgs.gov; Martitia P. Tuttle, mptuttle@earthlink.net;

                                Shannon Mahan, smahan@usgs.gov; Arthur J. Merschat, amerschat@usgs.gov

11:30am-12:00pm Surface Rupture from the 9 August 2020, Mw 5.1 Sparta, North Carolina Earthquake:  Initial Field Observations, Integrated                             Remotely Sensed Data, and Connections to Bedrock and Surficial Geology

                               Merschat, Arthur J., U.S. Geological Survey, amerschat@usgs.gov; Mark W. Carter, mcarter@usgs.gov;

                               Kevin G. Stewart, kgstewar@email.unc.edu; Jesse S. Hill, Jesse.Hill@ncdenr.gov; Paula M. Figueiredo, paula_figueiredo@ncsu.edu;                                 Ashley Lynn, alynn@email.unc.edu

12:00-12:30pm      The Role of Paleoseismic Investigations in the Engineering of Pipeline Fault Crossings

                               Hengesh, James, Interface Geohazard Consulting, hengesh@igeohaz.com